D-Freakin’-Licious

dscf4692

As my husband sleeps lots later than me on the weekends, I generally cook breakfast while he’s still sleeping and wake him when it’s ready. Sundays tend to be a larger breakfast and where I guess I’ve recouped a little from the week’s work and feel like experimenting. Today, I realized we had some frozen hashbrowns in the freezer and I really wanted to make something cheesy and tasty with them.

So, I looked up some recipes and made some changes, based on ingredients from another recipe (this one). Here goes:

  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 1/3 cup condensed chicken soup
  • 2 1/2 cups frozen hash browns
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 4 tablespoons bacon crumbles

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a baking dish with cooking spray. (I used a 2.2 quart glass pyrex dish.) In a large bowl, mix the soup and sour cream together. Add the hash browns and stir to coat them very well. Add 3/4 cup of the cheddar cheese, butter, onion, salt, pepper, and bacon. Stir well to distribute. Spoon into dish and sprinkle remaining 3/4 cup of cheddar cheese on the top of the mixture. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove the foil and cook an additional 10 minutes. Place on broil until cheese is lightly browned. Serve. 🙂

I hope you try this – it’s an ultimate comfort food, too! With the outside looking so dreary and rainy this morning, comfort food definitely hit the spot! As he said, this is vacation quality!

P.S. He gave me the title for this post – LOL!  It’s perfect!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “D-Freakin’-Licious

  1. missknits says:

    oooo great recipe! my mom used to make this recipe (minus the bacon) all the time growing up!! she still makes it, but its soooo good and sooo fattening i have to try and stay away from it! lol but yum!!

    Like

  2. rebecca says:

    As SOOOOOOOON as I’m off the SouthBeach Diet (no carbs), I’m going to make this. OMGOSH…my hubbs would LOVE THIS! Not kidding. He’d be in heaven. If it has potatoes in the recipe he is IN!

    xoRebecca

    Like

Leave a comment