Owls and Elephants? Oh my!

It’s been a while since I’ve painted some fun ACEO miniatures. They are so enjoyable and a great stress reliever…why don’t I do these more often? I finished these up this week and have them both listed on eBay up for auction as we speak so I wanted to be sure to share them here, too.

The first one I did features an owl. To me, he (or she) is deep in thought, almost mesmerized by the moon in front of him (or her) with the picturesque view. How much closer can one get? For the colors in the sky, I wanted them to be a bit complex and not too simple. Blends of ivory, yellow, purple and blue were used to create a mood. I call it “Deep Thoughts” and it’s listed here.

IMG_8401-001

For the second one, I’ve been fascinated by elephants lately and wanted to create an elephant couple. Actually while I was looking at stamps, I found one with the elephants having their trunks together in a heart. How precious! While this is all hand painted and tiny with no stamp used at all, I’m really happy with how it turned out. I used black for the ground as if in silhouette and the sky gray and overcast to allow the elephants and their love to shine through. After that, I thought it could use a little something extra so I added some white and black paint splatters…always a fun addition to any piece! It’s listed here.

IMG_8404

I hope your weekend is starting off to be a wonderful one, my friends!

xoxo

Rhonda

Leave a Reply

