New Year, New Ideas

Happy 2016 my friends! Last night, I was revamping the look of my blog for something a little more simple and was astonished to see that I’ve had this blog since 2008. I really want to give more time and attention to it and this year seems the perfect time to do that!

IMG_6682

Tennessee Titans Family, Boys as football players, girls as cheerleaders, custom hair colors and styles, custom shirt numbers

Every December, I get so many Christmas ornament orders and I love creating them like nothing else in this world. I love having an idea and seeing it come to life. I love the excitement I have when I’m happy with how something turned out. I have a passion for it like nothing else I’ve ever done.

IMG_5933

Sisters/Best Friends Ornament, custom hair colors, hair styles, clothing

Looking back, I can’t remember really when I started painting ornaments. I know my first paintings came around 5 years of age, but ornaments. I sure wish I could remember. Suffice to say, it’s been that long ago! Around 15 years ago, I was asked to create ornaments for a Liz Claiborne/Macy’s promotion including setting up in Macy’s for customers to watch me work. What an experience!

IMG_6040

High School Cheerleader Ornament, custom hair style/color, custom team colors, custom logo (the one requested in this one was a lower case “e”)

This year was the busiest season I’ve ever had. I added a good number of new designs in my shop and was asked to create quite a few I’d never thought of and things went crazy from there. Those are just a few of the photos you’re seeing in this post.

IMG_6467

Nurse Ornament, custom clothes (scrubs – any color or retro dress/cap), hair color, hair style, name, title (LPN, RN, CPN, etc.)

It’s been an eye opening experience like no other and it’s made me rethink my entire shop direction. For 2016, once the wedding items have sold that I currently have here, I won’t be renewing them or creating more. I’m still undecided on whether or not to continue the flags. I enjoy creating some of those, so I may end up moving them to another shop if I keep any. For this year, though, I truly want to concentrate on ornaments.

IMG_5521

Realtor ornament, custom colors, sign, name, hair color/style, male/female

I’ve always felt like my shop needed to have one item to truly focus on, but that is extremely difficult when you enjoy so many different things. Every year, though, I say “I wish I could create ornaments year round!” and I truly mean that. This past year, ornaments sold year round here and there.  The truth lies in that there are always special occasions and special moments that an ornament would be perfect for! They are great gifts, especially when they’re personalized! From the realtor who helped us (beyond all comprehension) to get our dream home to the sweet little couple who just got engaged or married, these are treasured for a lifetime.

IMG_6585

Snow Couple, Year and Initials in heart (upon request), Eyelashes added to female snow lady upon request

So, my friends, happy 2016 to you and yours! I hope that this will be a wonderful year like no others…full of blessings, joy, peace and all kinds of wonderful things. Thank you for being here with me through this journey!

 

Leave a Reply

