Cats & Birds


While painting birdhouses is not something that would typically strike my fancy, I’ve been secretly watching my indoor cat spy on the birds outside. They are plentiful now that Spring is here and I almost think they are taunting her. Perhaps they know she can’t get to them. For whatever reason, they hang out near the large patio door by my computer…and the area I have the screen open when I’m working at the desk.

After observing this for the past few weeks, I guess that would explain the birdhouse photo catching my eye on Facebook. So I decided to paint one in honor of Mietta, my little hunter kitty. The gray weathered border I painted around this is symbolic of the doors/windows and the white picket fence represents the barrier between the viewer (in my mind’s eye that would be Mietta) and the birdhouse. I decided to title it “Safe Zone” for reasons that are now obvious 🙂

IMG_2591

ACEO miniature (2.5 by 3.5 inches, baseball card size) currently available by clicking here. If you’re interested in commissioning a similar piece, please contact me here and I’m happy to create an original piece in the size you would like. Also, prints of this piece may be available upon request.

These ACEOs (Art Cards, Editions and Originals) are small, just to give you an idea of how small that actually is, here’s a quarter placed next to this one:

IMG_2589

Leave a Reply

