Catching Up and Introduction to Owlabaster…

It takes a while to recover when you buy a new house that is in need of work. At least it does for me. I feel settled in now and I’m loving my new house. I’ve posted lots of pictures of the progress over the past several months. More has been completed but for now, I need a small thing to complete the remaining rooms so I’ll show those over time as the finishing touches come to pass.

In the meantime, I didn’t want to abandon the blog…especially since I have done better about posting since I’ve moved. So, I decided to show you something new I’ve been working on for my shop (one of my shops, anyway). Since we’re talking about my shop, I admit that I have too many different things in it. I have Christmas ornaments, Rustic wedding decor, Shabby/Cottage Chic wedding decor, burlap garden flags and of course Tennessee Vols creations. I hope I’m not confusing customers when they come to my shop with the various types of offerings I have. While they are categorized, I can’t help but feel it may be too many things in one place which complicates the shopping experience. Having repeat customers or referred customers makes me continue the way things are, though, as building a new shop for these items overwhelms me.

One great thing is that I do have my owls separated into a shop all their own. The Owl Barn was opened back in 2009 and I’ve neglected it mostly. I periodically would go list a few things. Some of it would sell and I just wouldn’t list anything else for a long time. Then I thought I needed everything in one place and would list owl items in my other shop. Anyway, it may appear I’ve not had clear thoughts as the best way to do this. Here’s the issue, though…getting people to either shop can be time consuming, so marketing/promoting one shop was really all I could manage. Oh to have an easier way of driving traffic when you are beginning to build something when you are the lone person who is every facet of your business.

I’ve resolved now that I’m going to give my owl shop a lot more focus. Owls are something I love and have been fascinated with since I was little and first saw my Grandparents’ painted ceramic owl with eyes so big that they were mesmerizing. I want that to be where I’m going to enjoy myself. In honor of my new enlightenment, I created this new painting recently and have it listed in The Owl Barn. You can see it by clicking here.  I have him available in 4×6, 5×7 and 8×10:

Top-002

I find him intelligent and snazzy. Truth be known, he’s a direct inspiration from my love of The Big Bang Theory. When I posted him on Facebook, one of my childhood friends saw the painting and immediately came up with a great name. Owlabaster Nerdly II. (Thank you Steven Richardson for the most awesomely fitting name!)

Although there are only 4 items in The Owl Barn at the time of this blog post, please check back. Lord willing, it will grow very soon! I create things for it when I have all my orders at a good stopping place for timely completion and shipping.

This post is kind of a rambling one, I guess I had a lot to say without much direction as to how to say it. Maybe It works though. I’m not even going to proofread it, I’m trying this new fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants thing. Let the fun begin! 🙂

xoxoxo,

Rhonda

Leave a Reply

