Rustic and Purple

I was flipping through a magazine and saw a painting, well actually it was a print of a painting unframed for around $100. The bold style caught my attention and reminded me that I had this frame that I’d bought several months ago. I loved its rustic quality but I’d broken the glass that went in it. So, I saved it back for a painting project or a purchase of glass later on. Somehow when I saw that painting that day, I was inspired to dig this frame back out of storage (why is everything always in the bottom, last box??).

When painting “Rustic Purple“, I used darker tones and a warmer purple. To me this has a cool and warm feel that gives a good balance to the piece. Sometimes things just feel “right” and this one certainly feels right at home to me in the frame. Like the frame was chosen for the painting. In the end, though, exactly how it all happened. I know better than to ever, ever purchase a frame and try to paint around the frame. It all just has to have a certain flow to me to work where I’m pleased with the end result.

rusticpurple

The rustic quality of both the frame and painting have a unbridled roughness, an untamed wild heart feel to them to me. But I’ll leave that to you to decide. After all, art is very subjective.

xoxoxoxo,

Rhonda

Leave a Reply

