Light It Up!

This weekend has found us taking care of a project in our home that has really been bugging me. In our main bath, I’ve had a real dislike for the two lighting fixtures that we inherited with the house. Though there was nothing wrong with them, they are just very outdated and well, boringly ugly. The ceiling light is still there for now and it’s just a simple clear and frosted round glass fixture. The other one was a gold and wood bar light with 5 bulbs. What I liked about the old fixture was all the light from it and that the light was directed out and not up or down like so many fixtures are.

Over the past month or so, I’ve really been trying to figure out what I wanted in there. I considered uplighting, downlighting, track lighting…pretty much everything. In the end, I chose a fluorescent light that has a decorative trim on either end in a pewter type finish found today at our local Lowe’s Home Improvement store:

bathbarlight

I am so happy with it! It is a beautiful brightly lit room now and I am incredibly happy with the look of it. Most fluorescent fixtures are true eyesores but I was incredibly happy to have found one I could live with. Now, the ceiling fixture will need to go next but for now I’m incredibly content with how it looks. 🙂

One thought on “Light It Up!

Leave a Reply

