Thank You + Garden Beginnings

Thank you all so very much for the wonderfully kind comments and private emails. My heart is touched by your concern and your prayers for my mother.  I’ve shed many a tear by your words – overwhelmingly happy tears. She’s doing ok so far and really just waiting for her appointments. In the meantime, she has a positive outlook and is in really good spirits. Her first visit regarding her back is coming up soon. I’ll keep you posted and thank you so much my dear and wonderful friends.

Before all of the issues with Mama’s health came to be, Charles and I had been working diligently on our very first garden. Last weekend, he tilled the area (and ended up with some horrible blisters!) and I had taken some pictures of the before and after.

Here’s the area in our back yard before:

garden2009before2

and after:

garden2009

I’m not sure if this looks large to you or not but this garden has 19 rows! Already planted in it are onions, potatoes, carrots, broccoli, lettuce, and pole beans (green beans).  Still to be planted are cucumbers, corn, peanuts, peas, tomatoes and okra. WHEW!

Plus we have this little second garden:

garden2009a

Inside this are strawberries and I think I’ll also have some herbs there. It’s just off our patio so things would be easy to harvest from there.

We can hardly wait not only to grow things but to share them with our neighbors, friends and family. I can’t wait until I want a salad and I just go to the back yard to make one!

3 thoughts on “Thank You + Garden Beginnings

  1. how fun! if i had a yard (and not living in an apt) i would love to try and grow my own veggies – especially tomatoes! mmmm cant wait to see your progress!! and so glad your mom is keeping in good spirits! keeping her in my thoughts and prayers!

  2. That sounds so fun and exciting! I love gardening too because you can watch things grow and change every day!! I hope you continue to take pics so we can all see!! Congrats on your new garden!!

  3. oh I am so jealous of your large garden. I’ve been meaning to post my little one (about the size of your herb garden). But mine is getting full already here in the south. I can’t wait to see your little things sprouting!

Leave a Reply

