Cinnamon Rolls

I have made my first attempt ever at making cinnamon rolls. The “from scratch” kind. I found this most wonderful recipe with nice reviews at this lovely blog called “Food Loves Writing” and let me tell you, there are many more recipes on there I plan to try!

Back to the cinnamon rolls, though. Everything was going great until I realize I read the instructions a little too hurriedly and somehow ended up adding a cup and a half too much flour!! It had just begun mixing at the time I realized the earlier instruction said “divided”. Oops! It all worked out though because I was able to work fast and not let all the flour get into the dough during mixing. Whew!

While I was working away, Charles was my photographer and was actually shooting pictures during each stage of this prep. I was amazed when I was going through all of them! How sweet he is!

In progress (not sure why my fingertips are so red, unless its my obsessive washing of my hands anytime I’m cooking):

dscf3939

The roll being cut:

dscf3948

Going into the dish:

dscf3950

Just out of the oven (see my kitty cat potholder peeking through the clear glass dish LOL):

dscf3955

And, the finished product:

dscf3958

My personal review of these – delicious! I don’t care for the icing and next time I might just use a glaze instead of the cream cheese icing. Or maybe the recipe just made too much for the amount of cinnamon rolls there were. At at rate, they were still very, very good. Well worth the trouble!!

11 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. oooo these are the yummy cinnamon rolls you were talking about! any left? cause i’m on my way!!! lol ohh and icing – you might try like an orange icing next time, i’ve done that and it puts a really nice twist to it!

  2. Shannalee! Thank you so much for your recipe! Love your blog and your way with a story! Please keep them coming…I’m trying all kinds of experiments these days!! 🙂
    Rhonda

  3. mk! there are some left – 3 I think. I took several to my parents yesterday. I’m trying to be good…if they were here, I’d eat way more than I need!! LOL!

  4. LOL! I’m so happy I can tempt you LV! They are really, really good!! Not too sweet – a really good cinnamon roll. Enjoy!!

  5. YUM!!! There have been many times when I have felt how wonderful it would be to be neighbors (MANY times). Looking at these pics and the watering that occurred in my mouth was NO exception!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

