Wall Storage for Shoes

Shoes! Shoes! Shoes!

We need storage so badly for shoes near our entry. Unfortunately, our entry door goes straight into the kitchen. They can’t go there so currently, they are in the living room, behind our couch which is just outside the kitchen.

I’ve faced the truth and realize our shoes will forever be taken off near the door and left for easy access. Try as I might, it’s not convenient to take them to my closet each day. However, I am ok with only two pair being out at a time.

In light of this discovery and yes, admitting to myself that we need a place for our gotta-run-out-and-get-the-mail-quick-slip-on-shoes, I started looking for a storage solution.

My favorite find is this from j-me and also available in the US at 1 of a Kind Stuff:

What I like about this unit is that it would get our shoes off the floor, which would help with any spiders. Not that we have a problem with them, but I know one too many people who have had a spider bite on their foot from putting on their shoes. I also like that it attaches to the wall and would take up very little space. This unit would fit nicely in our laundry room which is off the kitchen and very convenient to our exterior door. We don’t have alot of space in there, but a wall storage of this size could be ideal for solving our shoe problem.

Unfortunately, these range from $70 to $150, depending on size, and that’s not including shipping.

I’ve showed this piece to Charles, who thinks that perhaps we can create our own little wall shoe storage for much less. I’ll keep you posted on it and show pictures when we do it.

Of course, we’ll have to wait until warmer weather for this project – oh please hurry Spring!! I can barely wait!!

2 thoughts on “Wall Storage for Shoes

  1. What a neat storage idea…I’ve never seen one of those before. I’ll have to show it to my hubby too, as he can make almost anything.

    I saw your comment on One Woman’s Cottage Life and followed your link. My mom grew up in Jackson and my family moved back there when I was in college…we drove through your town each time we drove down to visit. My parents have since moved back up here, but I still have family there and we visit every few years.

  2. Thanks Joyce! I was looking for something different and found those storage units. I can hardly wait for us to get it made and installed.

    That’s incredibly cool that your Mom lived in Jackson and that you had come through this area. It’s a small town that is growing a bit. I like the small feeling of it and hope it doesn’t get too big…maybe just big enough 🙂

    Thank you so much for stopping by – I’m off to check out your blog now.
    Rhonda

Leave a Reply

