To Rent a Booth or To Not Rent a Booth…

Today Charles and I visited a brand new restaurant here in Milan today for lunch. Next door to it is an antique/home decor store that has alot of booths in it. For some reason, we had never been in it. It’s really close to our home, making it that much more wonderful for us to have discovered it. While there, I found several things to use as upcoming projects, I was really excited about it all.

Charles and I were talking about the possibilities of opening a booth there for my things. Instead of going home to call them, we just went back…and I’m so happy we did!! Come to find out, they have two booths available, one of which is the second space from the door!! I’ve always wanted to find an avenue to sell things locally where people could see and touch what I make.

The booth is a 10×10 space and I’m wondering how on earth I’ll ever fill up such a large area with my small things. Looks like I need to expand soon if I am going to do this. And, with only two booths available, I need to work FAST!!

What do you think? Are there any of my readers and friends who have booths who can give me any tips and tricks? I would be so appreciative if you can contact me – I’ve never done anything like this so it’s all new to me.

Bear in mind, I live in a small town and I’m not expecting huge results from this little booth if I do it. However, it might prepare me a bigger city booth in the future. OR, it could surprise me and end up being perfect for my needs!! I’m so excited for the possibilities!!

2 thoughts on “To Rent a Booth or To Not Rent a Booth…

  1. Cozy, I think that this is just the opportunity that you have been looking for. We talked about this a couple of months ago and you were kicking around a couple of ideas but you were kinda up and down on them. Perhaps the timing wasn’t right, it just didn’t feel like what you were looking for….. or, you would waiting for the right opportunity to present itself.

    I have sent you a convo to discuss this with you further, but I say, “go for it!” The timing is right with the holidays right around the corner. If you find it isn’t working out you can always do something else after the first of the year. You will never know if you don’t give it a shot. 😉

  2. I don’t know if you do this like we do, but we have lots of odds and ends kind of furniture pieces that family members have handed down to us over the years (some antiques).

    If so, I wouldn’t worry so much about filling the space. You can always place some old bookcases (or maybe have Charles make you some). You could line the shelves with some pretty fabric, lace, or shelf liner and then decoratively place your items.

    Even better, place a small Christmas tree in the booth to hang your little ornaments and “looped” items. The possibilities are endless and I think that if you are committed to it, you should GO FOR IT!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

