Crispy Chops & Banana Nut Bread

The past few weeks have been busy ones, but I’ve found some time to cook a few things. Friday night I made some Crispy Pork Chops of which the recipe derived from Nigella Lawson (one of my favorites) that I found on a fellow blogger’s – “Anne’s Food” – entry (click here to see the recipe). I omitted the egg as one comment had suggested. They turned out to be quite tasty. I took a couple of pictures, but they turned out quite fuzzy, so I won’t post that. (My really cool camera’s batteries are down and I just picked more up today.)

Then, last night I made some Banana Nut Bread from a cookbook that my hubby & I received as a wedding gift. It’s one of those small town cookbooks put together by a community or in this case, First Baptist Church in Dyer, Tennessee. The recipe was submitted by Ms. Christine Ramsey who was a lunch lady at Charles’ school when he was young. Here’s a photo of it:

Here’s the super simple recipe:

3 medium bananas

1/2 c. margarine

1 c. sugar

3 eggs

2 c. self-rising flour

1/2 c. chopped nuts

Mash bananas. Blend margerine, sugar and eggs in separate bowl. Add to banana mixture. Add flour 1/2 cup at a time. Fold nuts into batter. Pour into sprayed 9×5 loaf pan. Bake at 325 for 1 1/4 hours. (I used a glass loaf pan which was baked at 300 degrees for the same amount of time – 1 1/4 hours.)

This recipe turned out to be good, but not quite sweet enough. Next time, I’ll add a little more sugar.

Now, what to make tonight? Hmmm…maybe we’ll have burritos. But, that’d be the frozen kind – El Monterey Beef & Bean – we love those and top each with 1/2 slice of sharp cheddar. Yummy!

One thought on “Crispy Chops & Banana Nut Bread

Leave a Reply

